© 2024 Peoria Public Radio
A joint service of Bradley University and Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Mason, Logan Counties Included in New COVID-19 Restrictions

(AP Photo/Seth Perlman)
In this Aug. 22, 2012, A boat is seen dredging the Illinois River south of Havana, Ill.

Mason County is now among the Illinois regions under heftier COVID-19 restrictions.
The county just south of Tazewell is in Region 3 that Gov. JB Pritzker is placing under renewed mitigations for meetings, indoor restaurant, and indoor bar service starting Sunday as the COVID-19 positivity rate there exceeds 8 percent for the third consecutive day.

Region 3 also includes Quincy, Lincoln, and Springfield.

Nine of the state's 11 health regions are now under the enhanced mitigations. Peoria's Region 2 (that includes Bloomington-Normal) and Champaign's Region 6 are the only two areas not currently impacted.

Statewide, a record 6,363 new cases and 56 deaths were reported Thursday.

There's no subscription fee to listen or read our stories. Everyone can access this essential public service thanks to community support. Donate now, and help fund your public media.

Tim is the News Director at WCBU Peoria Public Radio.