© 2024 Peoria Public Radio
A joint service of Bradley University and Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

LaHood's Win Highlights Local Primary Results

In the 18th Congressional District race Republican incumbent Darin LaHood walked away with 79 percent of the vote over Don Reints. LaHood will look to retain his seat in the November election running against repeat Democratic contender Junius Rodriguez. Rodriguez won 42 percent of the vote in a three-way race yesterday against Brian Deters and Darrel Miller. 

There were three contested races on the Republican ballot in Tazewell County. Deputy Chief Jeff Lower took 53-percent of the vote to win over Mike Eeten. The long-time Tazewell County law-man does not have a democratic challenger and is likely the next sheriff of Tazewell County. Sheriff Bob Huston is retiring.

Charlie Hanley won a three-way race for Coroner. The funeral director took 48 percent of the votes cast in that republican primary. There is no democratic challenger in the coroner's race. Hanley is expected to assume the remaining two-year term on Jeff Baldi’s seat. Baldi is retiring at the end of the month. Brian Foley will handle the duties of the Tazewell County Coroner’s office until the November election. 

John Ackerman won the Republican nomination for Tazewell County Clerk and Recorder. With 37 percent of the vote, Ackerman faces Democrat Brittany Miller.