© 2023 Peoria Public Radio
A joint service of Bradley University and Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
WCBU is simulcasting WGLT while we work out a technical issue. Thank you for your patience.

9 candidates file to replace Bustos in 17th Congressional District race

President Joe Biden speaks during a ceremony, honoring fallen law enforcement officers at the 40th annual National Peace Officers' Memorial Service at the U.S. Capitol in Washington, Saturday, Oct. 16, 2021. (AP Photo/Jose Luis Magana)
Jose Luis Magana
The newly drawn 17th Congressional District includes parts of Peoria and much of western and northern Illinois.
Updated: March 14, 2022 at 7:50 PM CDT
WCBU updated this story to include additional candidates whose filed shortly before Monday's deadline.

The race to replace Cheri Bustos in Congress has gotten more crowded. Seven Democrats and two Republicans have filed to replace the five-term Democrat.

Bustos is not seeking re-election. The newly drawn 17th Congressional District includes parts of Peoria and much of western and northern Illinois.

Four Democrats filed Monday — the final day to get on the ballot for the June primary elections: Jonathan Logemann of Rockford, Jacqueline McGowan of Palos Hills, Linda McNeely of Rockford and Marsha Williams of Channahon. They will be on the primary ballot along with Democrats Angie Normoyle and Eric Sorensen of Moline and Litesa Wallace of Winnebago.

The two Republican candidates are Esther Joy King and Charlie Helmick Jr., both from East Moline.

Meanwhile, three Republicans have filed to challenge incumbent GOP congressman Darin LaHood in the 16th Congressional District: Michael Rebresh of Minooka, and JoAnne Guillemette and Walt Peters, both of Rockford.

One Democrat has filed for the 15th Congressional District race that will feature two Republican incumbents in a primary race. Paul Lange of Quincy filed for the seat that covers much of central Illinois, minus McLean County and parts of Champaign-Urbana, Springfield and Metro East.

Incumbents Rodney Davis of Taylorville and Mary Miller of Oakland have filed for the GOP primary. Miller’s district was eliminated through the state’s once-in-a-decade redistricting.

State legislative races

A Republican has filed for the new Illinois Senate 46th District that includes much of Bloomington-Normal, Peoria and areas north of Interstate 74. Desi Anderson of Carlock is seeking the GOP nomination. Democrat Dave Koehler is running for re-election.

Joe Alexander of Clinton filed as a Republican for the new Illinois House 87th District that includes two other candidates: Mary Burress of Pekin and Bill Hauter of Morton. The district includes western McLean County and much of Logan and Tazewell counties. They are running to replace longtime state Rep. Keith Sommer, who is retiring.

There will be a four-way Republican primary in the Illinois House 105th District race. Veteran incumbent Republican Dan Brady is instead running for Illinois Secretary of State. Kyle Ham of Bloomington, Mike Kirkton of Gridley, Dennis Tipsword of Metamora and Donald Reints of Benson have all filed for the seat that will represent parts of northern McLean County and Livingston and Woodford counties.

Jim Fisher of Hudson filed in the 91st Illinois House District, along with Republican Scott Preston of Normal and Democrats Sharon Chung and Karla Bailey-Smith of Bloomington. In the Illinois House 92nd District, Republican Benjamin Watt of Peoria submitted petitions. Democratic incumbent Jehan Gordon-Booth is seeking re-election in that district.

We depend on your support to keep telling stories like this one. You – together with donors across the NPR Network – create a more informed public. Fact by fact, story by story. Please take a moment to donate now and fund the local news our community needs. Your support truly makes a difference.

Eric Stock is a reporter at WGLT.