© 2024 Peoria Public Radio
A joint service of Bradley University and Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Large Field of Candidates File To Run for 2021 Peoria Municipal Elections

Jeff Smudde

Peoria has a full slate of candidates running for local offices next year.

Multiple candidates have filed to run for the 1st, 2nd, 4th, and 5th District council seats, as well as the Peoria City Clerk and Peoria Township Supervisor's offices.

Former 3rd District Councilwoman Gale Thetford is running again next year. She filed her nominating petitions Monday with the Peoria County Election Commission. Thetford last served on the council from 1997 to 2005, when she was defeated by Bob Manning.

Currently, Tim Riggenbach serves as the 3rd District's representative. He hadn't filed his paperwork as of Monday afternoon, but said he's running again. Also running is East Bluff activist Lawrence Maushard.

Thetford serves on the board of directors of Illinois Central College and Heartland Health Services.

Incumbents council member Denise Moore will face former TV reporter Denise Jackson and ADM employee Aaron Chess for the 1st District seat.

In the 2nd District, Chuck Grayeb, a retired Peoria school administrator, is slated to face Peoria Public Schools HR recruiter Peter Kobak and architect James Kemper.

Incumbent 5th District Councilman Denis Cyr is being challenged by Ryan Hite, an insurance agent.

Methodist College Dean of Students Andre Allen and Peoria attorney Stephen Kouri are running for the 4th District seat.

Incumbent 4th District councilman Jim Montelongo is running for mayor. At-large councilwoman Rita Ali and Caterpillar employee and entrepreneur Andres Diaz also filed their petitions with the election commission on Monday.

Several other candidates also say they're running for mayor, including community activist Chama St. Louis, Peoria Area Food Bank Warehouse Manager Couri Thomas, Rev. Chuck Brown of Victory Church, and at-large councilman Sid Ruckriegel.

Incumbent Mayor Jim Ardis isn't seeking a fifth term.

Incumbent City Clerk Beth Ball hasn't filed petitions to run for another term,  but Chief Deputy City Clerk Stephanie Tarr and Peoria police officer Shawn Allen both filed to run for the office Monday morning.

Incumbent Peoria Township Supervisor Frank Abdnour will be challenged by LaTrina Leary.

The last day of filing is Nov. 23.

There's no subscription fee to listen or read our stories. Everyone can access this essential public service thanks to community support. Donate now, and help fund your public media.

Tim is the News Director at WCBU Peoria Public Radio.