A Joint Service of Bradley University and Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Peoria Council Recognizes 100th Anniversary of Suffrage Amendment

Creative Commons

Illinois was one of the first three states to ratify the suffrage amendment in 1919. The Peoria City Council Tuesday night passed a resolution recognizing the 100th anniversary of the event.

The amendment, which gave women the right to vote, became effective in 1920, the same year the League of Women Voters was formed.

Connie Romanus is the president of the League’s Peoria chapter.

"You see more women in public office. Women get involved in issues. The League of Women Voters, that is one of our main goals, to educate the public on political candidates and in issues in our communities," said Romanus.

Illinois had approved women’s suffrage for state elections seven years before the approval of the federal right to vote.