© 2024 Peoria Public Radio
A joint service of Bradley University and Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Here's who's running for state and local office in the Peoria area next year, so far

File Photo
Capitol News Illinois

The 2024 election season is officially kicking off as candidates begin filing their petitions for the March 2024 primary.

Freshman Republican state Rep. Dennis Tipsword of Metamora faces a primary challenge from Don Rients of Benson. Rients also ran in last year's Republican primary for the seat, coming in fourth. The winner of that race will face Democrat Morgan Phillips of Lostant in the November general election. The district is deep-red.

There's also a three-way GOP primary brewing the seat being vacated by state Sen. Win Stoller of Germantown Hills. Former Dixon mayor Li Arellano, Jr. and Dixon city council member Chris Bishop are both running to represent the sprawling 37th state Senate District. Tim Yager of Geneseo is also a candidate.

Jesse Faber, Grundy County Board chairman Chris Balkema, and Susan Wynn Bence filed paperwork Monday with the Illinois State Board of Elections to run as Republicans for the 53rd Senate seat being vacated by state Sen. Tom Bennett. Mike Kirkton and Washington Mayor Gary Manier have also announced their intentions to run for the seat.

Other races aren't currently contested in the primary, but will see choices in the 2024 general election. Democratic State Sen. Dave Koehler of Peoria will be challenged by Republican Sally Owens, who unsuccessfully ran for Peoria County Board last year.

Republican Desi Anderson will challenge freshman Democratic state Rep. Sharon Chung in the competitive 91st District, which includes most or all of Bartonville, East Peoria, and Bloomington-Normal. Anderson lost when she ran against Koehler for state Senate last year.

Longtime state Reps. Ryan Spain (R-Peoria) and Jehan Gordon-Booth (D-Peoria) don't face any challengers to date. State Rep. Travis Weaver (R-Edwards) and state Rep. Bill Hauter (R-Morton) are also currently running unopposed.

In Tazewell County, county auditor Brett Grimm is running unopposed for county board chairman. Incumbent Dave Zimmerman isn't running for another term. To date, county board member Kaden Nelms and William Funkhouser have filed paperwork to run for auditor. There's also four people running for three available seats in County Board District 3. They include Michael Harris, Tammy Rich-Stimson, Eric Schmidgall, and Bill Atkins.

Tazewell County state's attorney Kevin Johnson, coroner Charlie Hanley, and circuit clerk Linc Hobson are running unopposed for new terms. All are Republicans.

In Peoria County, Christina Rose has filed to run for the open District 3 seat on the Peoria Public Schools board of education. Chase Klaus currently holds the seat.

Democrat Marcia McCann will challenge Republican Peoria County Board District 8 member Nate Hoerr.

State's attorney Jodi Hoos, circuit clerk Bobby Spears, and coroner Jamie Harwood are all running for re-election. All are Democrats.

The last day for candidates to file is Dec. 4. The primary election is March 19, 2024.

Tim is the News Director at WCBU Peoria Public Radio.