A Joint Service of Bradley University and Illinois State University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Jensen, Ruckriegel aren't running for new at-large Peoria City Council terms

Peoria City Council Chambers
Tim Shelley

Two Peoria city council incumbents won't run for another four-year term next year.

At-large council members Beth Jensen and Sid Ruckriegel didn't file paperwork to run in the February 2023 primary by Monday's filing deadline.

Ruckriegel has served since 2015. He unsuccessfully ran for mayor in the 2021 election, coming in third behind Jim Montelongo and Rita Ali. Jensen has served on the council since 2013.

Eleven candidates filed to run by the deadline. They include incumbents Kiran Velpula, Zach Oyler, and John Kelly. Other candidates running are Mike Vespa, Bernice Gordon-Young, Benjamin Nicks, Jr., Shawn Allen, Lawrence Maushard, Demario Boone, Anu Uddavolu, and Clara Underwood-Forman.

The primary is Feb. 28, 2023.

We depend on your support to keep telling stories like this one. You – together with NPR donors across the country – create a more informed public. Fact by fact, story by story. Please take a moment to donate now and fund the local news our community needs. Your support truly makes a difference.

Tim is the News Director at WCBU Peoria Public Radio.